Here Are The 2015 Engines Of The Year

Each year, a panel of experts (our own Marc Lachapelle is part of it) votes and decides which engine is the most worthy of receiving an Engine of the Year award. For this year, there are 12 categories; most of them are split by displacement (less than a litre, 1 to 1.4 litres, 1.4 to 1.8 litres, 1.8 to 2 litres, 2 to 2.5 litres, 2.5 to 3 litres, 3 to 4 litres and over 4 litres), and there are also awards for the Green Engine and the Performance Engine of the Year.

Here are this year’s winners:

  • For engines smaller than 1 litre, the trophy goes to Ford’s three-cylinder Ecoboost mill
  • For the 1 to 1.4 litre category, the winner is PSA Peugeot's 1.2 litre turbocharged engine
  • For the 1.4 to 1.8 litre segment, it’s the 1.5 litre found in the BMW i8 that won
  • Among all mills in the 1.8 to 2 litre category, the jury awarded the prize to Mercedes-AMG's four-cylinder
  • Audi wins in the 2 to 2.5 litre class with its turbocharged five-cylinder
  • BMW’s M3/M4 engine receives the 2.5 to 3 litre award
  • For engines between 3 and 4 litres, McLaren’s twin-turbo V8 was crowned
  • And finally, for mills over 4 litres, the trophy went to Ferrari’s V8, the one found in the 458 Speciale

Green engine of the year goes, unsurprisingly, to Tesla’s electric system. The new engine of the year is the i8’s powertrain, while the performance award was given to Ferrari’s V8.

And from among all these, the 2015 Engine of the Year trophy was awarded to BMW’s electric-hybrid powerplant. 

Share on Facebook

More on the subject

Technology/Autonomous VehiclesFord Wins 2014 Engine of the Year Award
Ever heard about the International Engine of the Year award? It is (as the name implies) a competition between all the engines sold in cars since January 2014. There are multiple categories in which a motor can shine. There are winners separated by displacement size, and then individual awardees are …
NewsThe Top Ten 2014 Motors According to Ward’s Automotive
This year marks the 20th edition of Ward Automotive’s 10 best engines of the year award. They’ve evaluated 44 engines this year to determine the winner. To be eligible, these power plants must be under the hood of a model sold in the first quarter of 2014. Engines are judged …
Technology/Autonomous VehiclesWard Announces 2015's 10 Best Engines
Each year, WardsAuto combs through the automotive launches and concentrates on a particular point: the year's new engines. Each mill is analysed, and a list of Ward's 10 Best Engines is announced. For 2015, the selection is varied: the number of cylinders go from 0 to 8, the power ranges …
Technology/Autonomous VehiclesAnd the 2016 Engine of the Year is...
The results for 2016 Engine of the Year, an annual award given by Engine Technology International Magazine, are in. A vast selection of powerplants were entered, and the winners have been announced in 12 different categories. Here are the winners: Less than 1 litre : Ford's turbocharged 1.0-litre three-cylinder 1.0 …